Skip to content

The Summer We Lost Her

Buy the Book:
Amazon
Amazon Canada
Barnes & Noble
IndieBound
Books-A-Million
iBooks
Powell's
Indigo

Published by: Gallery Books
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Pages: 352
ISBN13: 978-1501199684

 

Synopsis

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah, a moving and heartfelt novel about a husband and a wife, a missing child, and the complicated family secrets that can derail even the best of marriages.

It’s been a busy—and expensive—few years for Matt and Elise Sorenson, and their young daughter Gracie, whom they affectionately call Little Green. Matt, a Manhattan lawyer, has just been offered a partnership, and Elise's equestrian ambitions as a competitive dressage rider may finally vault her into the Olympics. But her long absences from home and endless hours of training have strained their relationship nearly to the breaking point.

Now they're spending a few weeks in the Adirondacks, preparing to sell the valuable lakefront cabin owned by Matt's late grandfather, who raised him after his parents died. It’s been in Matt's storied family for generations, and both he and Elise agree it's time to let it go. But the cabin holds different memories for each of them. And as they navigate those memories--and come face to face with Matt's teenage crush, now an unnervingly attractive single mother living right next door--Gracie disappears without a trace.

Faced with the possibility that they'll never see their daughter again, Elise and Matt struggle to come to terms with what their future holds. The fate of the family property, the history of this not-so-tiny town, and the limits of Matt and Elise's love for each other—indeed, what both thought they knew of each other all these years--is inextricably bound up with Gracie's disappearance. Over the course of Cohen’s luminous novel, everything for the Sorenson family will change--the messy tangle of their past, the harrowing truth of their present, and whether or not their love will survive a parent's worst nightmare.

Add on Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Originally published in Canada as Little Green, coming soon as The Summer We Lost Her in the US and Canada. 


Praise

“How much stress can a marriage take? Tish Cohen answers this question with skill and artistry, capturing subtle shifts in mood and feeling as she escalates the pressure on her characters. . . . Atmospheric and compulsively readable.”
- Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Orphan Train

“Cohen writes with command of a strained marriage facing unfathomable challenge, knowing precisely when to reveal and when to withhold. Deftly plotted and tensely paced, Little Green is impossible to put down.”
- Cathy Marie Buchanan, New York Times-bestselling author of The Painted Girls

“Little Green dazzlingly unfolds the complexities of a fracturing marriage, the secrets we build our dreams on, and the fierce yearning to be someone other than who we really are. Compassionate, startling, and so full of life, the pages breathe.”
- Caroline Leavitt, New York Times-bestselling author of Pictures of You, Is This Tomorrow and Cruel Beautiful World

Little Green is a compelling and complex portrait of a marriage and regret. Cohen spins a moving story with a high-stakes plot that won’t let you go until you know the family’s fate.”
- Heidi W. Durrow, New York Times-bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky

"A complex and beautifully told story of a marriage in crisis, and the myriad ways our personal histories and our regrets come back to haunt us. Tish Cohen's characters are complicated and flawed and wonderfully precise, and somehow, by the time you turn the final pages of LITTLE GREEN, they come to feel like family. "
- Julie Buxbaum, New York Times-bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

“A sharp, suspenseful portrait of a family on the verge of collapse.”
– Kirkus Reviews

“In this gripping and searing portrait of a marriage on the brink, Tish Cohen kept me on the edge of my seat through every twist and turn of her cleverly crafted plot.”
- Nicola Kraus, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Nanny Diaries


Excerpt

A ROAR THE size of a jet engine. It started in Elise’s core, billowed up her spine, gathering force with every vertebrae until it escaped her. A roar so loud, so forceful, she could no longer hear what Matt was saying. Ruth started to weep uncontrollably in the doorway.

“What have I done?”

Elise couldn’t breathe. The roar coiled itself around her and squeezed, binding her and bracing her. It was so ravenous, so crazed, so keening with outrage, it sucked all the oxygen from the street. The entire village. Its force lifted her off the ground, higher and higher, until she was hovering way above the scene. In the sky, some twenty, thirty, forty thousand feet up, with puffy cumulonimbus clouds that looked so substantial and beautiful from the ground but now offered her nothing at all. Then the small bits of rock and moss that made up Ruth’s lawn. The hedge. All came rushing upward, fallen needles growing larger and sharper and intricate as they hurtled toward her. Her only instinct: to travel back in time, tuck folded legs into her belly to protect unborn Gracie from the impact. Her feet hit first, driving her knees into her chin. Just as the pine carpet came smashing into her face, Elise realized she’d dropped to her knees on the veranda.

She’d never made a sound.

Trailer